Lewis County Election Results

April 11, 2024

Lewis County General Election results for April 2, 2024. Total ballots were 530 with registered voters in the county totaling 4,729 for an 11.21 percent voting rate.

Canton Public Library tax increase of $0.22 over the present $0.2348 tax passed 229-87. Terry Fretwell was elected Canton Mayor with 203 votes over challengers Raymond Merida with 10 votes and Don Cibert with 88 votes, there were three write in votes. Canton Ward 1 Teresa McKenzie won over Daniel Turner, 74-63. Jim Crenshaw was elected Canton Alderman Ward 2 with 57 votes over Wesley Lay with 13 votes and Justin McDermott with 52 votes . Jeff Janney was unopposed for Ward 3 alderman and received 46 votes and Rick Martin also unopposed for a one-year term for Ward 3 had 42 votes.

R-4 Fire Protection District tax increase proposal won with a 67-46.

The City of LaBelle proposition for a $0.3500 cent tax levy passed 36-24. Elected were Beth Clay, with 20 votes for the North Ward, and two candidates, Sam Wilson and Colt Jennings were elected for the south ward with 32 and 26 votes. Sindey Doscher had 8 votes.